# Minutes of the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the European Bird Census Council, Cáceres, Spain, 24th March 2010

## **TOP 1:** Chairman's welcome

Richard Gregory, as current Chairman of the European Bird Census Council (EBCC), formally opened the Annual General Meeting (AGM) at 5:41 p.m. and welcomed all Delegates, Board members and guests to this meeting. An attendance list was circulated. Altogether, 59 people attended the meeting (37 votes could be casted at the elections).

The Chairman outlined the agenda of the Board meeting and asked for additions to the agenda. As there were no further items brought forward, the agenda was accepted unchanged.

## **TOP 2:** Apologies for absence

These were received from Juha Tiainen and Dragan Simic.

# **TOP 3:** Minutes of last Annual General Meeting

Full minutes of the last Annual General Meeting were published in Bird Census News (2007) 20, 45-48. They were accepted by the AGM.

# **TOP 4:** Chairman's Report on behalf of EBCC Board (and Observers in Board)

Richard Gregory gave a brief summary of EBCC's work since the Chiavenna conference in April 2007. The complete Chairman's Report is printed along with these minutes in this issue of BCN.

## **TOP 5:** Financial report

Ruud Foppen gave the yearly financial reports for the years 2008 and 2009, since the legal situation of EBCC had changed in 2008. These are the first financial reports of EBCC as an Association under Dutch Law. The Treasurer reported on positive development of EBCC finances in 2008 due to considerable income from data requests, but little income in 2009. The main expenses were due to the costs of the Notary which helped with the new legal status of Association under Dutch law. The AGM approved the budget of the financial years 2008 and 2009. The financial reports had also been ratified by the Treasury Commission. This Commission, consisting of the delegates Frank Saris and Koen Devos, reported on their task of checking EBCCs finances, which they found correct and flawless. They discharged Board in relation to the responsibilities of both financial years.

A new Treasury Commission has to be elected/appointed at a later stage, as there were no volunteers among the audience for this task.

# **TOP 6:** Election of new national Delegates

Åke Lindström informed all participants about the procedures to elect Delegates. Currently, 82 Delegates represent 42 European countries. The updated list of Delegates can be found on the EBCC homepage. New Delegates can only be elected at the AGMs. They can be proposed by existing Delegates or relevant NGOs in their respective countries.

Nidal Issa, Guido Tellini Florenzano, Dragan Simic are new possible Delegates for France, Italy and Serbia, respectively.

The election of delegates was taken by a show of hands. There were 35 votes in favour of Nidal Issa, 33 votes for Guido Tellini, and 32 votes for Dragan Simic. All three were thus accepted as new Delegates of EBCC.

## **TOP 7:** Election of new Board members

A list of 10 candidates were listed on the Agenda, including four new candidates and six current members which were standing for re-election. It was decided that the election would be carried out by a show of hands, and that Delegates would elect the Board members one by one, with Ian Burfield and David Noble keeping count of the votes. The elections went as follows:

For Ruud Foppen (Netherlands) as Chairman: 36 votes.

For David Noble (Great Britain) as Vice Chairman: 35 votes.

For Ḥans-Günther Bauer (Germany) as Secretary: 34 votes.

For Åke Lindström (Sweden) as Board Member/Delegate Officer: 35 votes.

For Anny Anselin (Belgium) as Board Member/BCN Officer: 35 votes.

For Lluis Brotons (Spain) as Board Member: 35 votes in favour.

For Henning Hjeldberg (Denmark) as Board Member: 35 votes.

For Mikhail Kalyakin (Russia) as Board Member: 36 votes.

For Oskars Keišs (Latvia) as Board Member: 35 votes.

For Verena Keller (Switzerland) as Board Member: 34 votes.

The roles of EBCC observers were shortly explained by the Chairman. There will be several observers at the Board meetings representing e.g. BirdLife International, the RSPB, ESMOG, and PECMBS. The audience welcomed these participants of Board.

## **TOP 8:** Conference declaration

A short summary statement on behalf of the conference participants had been prepared; the wording of this paper will be finalized at the end of the conference. David Noble promised to see to the finalization of the conference declaration.

## **TOP 9:** EBCC Award

For the second time EBCC presented its Award; this time it was presented to Jeremy Greenwood for his outstanding achievements in raising EBCC's profile and reputation from its installment in 1992, merging the former IBBC and EOAC. The prize was accepted by David Noble on Jeremy's behalf.

David Noble read out the written comment by Jeremy Greenwood on receiving this Award, for which he thanks EBCC very much. He declared that he was very proud of the achievements of EBCC for which he was active from its early days until 2004.

## **TOP 10:** Timing and venue of the next conference

Potential hosts of the 19<sup>th</sup> conference of EBCC were invited to express their intention. A first proposal comes from Szoltan Szabo to hold the next conference in Cluj (Transylvania / Romania) in spring 2013. The audience was very appreciative of this proposal.

# **TOP 11:** Any other business

Ruud Foppen, the new Chairman, thanked Richard Gregory heartily for his outstanding work and commitment as Chairman of EBCC acknowledging his major involvement in EBCC's scientific output, the installment of PECBMS and other important decisions and achievements of EBCC mentioned earlier. He closed by expressing his hopes that Richard Gregory might still act as an adviser of the Board to continue his involvement and great expertise to the benefit of the Association.

Ruud Foppen thanked the audience for their presence and participation and closed the EBCC's Annual General Meeting at 19h15.

Cáceres, 24 April 2010

Chairman Ruud Foppen Secretary Hans-Günther Bauer