

# Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the European Bird Census Council in Halle, Germany

## 7 September, 2016

#### Attending:

**Board members**: Ruud Foppen, David Noble, Verena Keller, Anny Anselin, Henning Heldbjerg, Mikhail Kalyakin, Oskars Keišs, Danae Portolou and Aleksi Lehikoinen.

**Observers and Invitees**: Petr Vořišek (CSO/PECBMS), Marina Kipson (CSO/EBBA), Jana Skorpilova (CSO/PECBMS), Sergi Herrando (ICO/EBBA2), Ivan Ramirez (BirdLife) and Kai Gedeon (EBCC 2016 conference organiser).

#### TOP 1: Chairman's welcome

EBCC Chair Ruud Foppen welcomes all participants (Board members, Delegates and invitees) to the AGM 2016.

#### **TOP 2:** Apologies for absence

Apologies received from Board member Lluis Brotons. There were no apologies received from National Delegates.

## TOP 3: Minutes of last Annual General Meeting

The minutes of the last AGM in Mikulov, Czech Republic in November 2015 can be found on the EBCC website at <u>http://www.ebcc.info/index.php?ID=11</u>. There were no issues raised and the minutes were accepted.

## **TOP 4:** Chairman's Report on behalf of EBCC Board and Observers

Chair Ruud Foppen presented the highlights of the report covering the period September 2013 to September 2016. The full report available at <a href="http://www.ebcc.info/index.php?ID=11">http://www.ebcc.info/index.php?ID=11</a>. This focused on the operation and outputs of the EBCC's three main projects: the Pan-European Common Bird Monitoring Scheme (PECBMS), the second European Breeding Bird Atlas (EBBA2) and the Euro Bird Portal (EBP). PECBMS has a range of annual outputs, most notably the Pan-European species trends and indicators, and the project continues in 2016 despite a break in funding from the European Commission expected to restart in January 2017. EBBA2, with significant funding from the MAVA Foundation continues to focus on field data collection particularly in eastern and southern Europe, as well developing the analytical approaches. EBP, which aims to integrate and analyse data from diverse bird

recording portals, received significant funding through a three-year EU LIFE and is continuing to expand into new countries and to gain new partners. EBCC Board meets twice per year and conferences are held every three years. There are currently 89 delegates in 44 countries and communication with delegates is through a newsletter started in 2008, and a website largely maintained by the CSO PECBMS team in Prague. Collaboration continues on several major research and conservation projects, and liaison with BirdLife International and Wetlands International is maintained through their attendance at Board meetings as Observers.

## TOP 5: Financial report

Treasurer Anny Anselin presented the Financial Report to Sept 2016, including expected income and expenses for the rest of the year. The bank account currently holds ca  $\leq$ 36,000 but  $\leq$ 24,000 is accounted as funds transferred to the EBCC account for EBBA2. Annual costs are for supporting Board attendance by a few members without organisational funding, and for maintaining the EBCC website. Income from EBBA1 royalties and its dataset has ended but significant income comes in periodically through data requests as part of major research projects. There has been no significant change in the EBCC's financial position overall.

#### **TOP 6:** Treasury Commission report

Koen Devos reported that the Treasury Commission (Koen Devos and Chris van Turnhout) had examined and approved the EBCC Financial accounts for the period 2013 to 2016. Delegates unanimously approved the Financial Report, with no objections.

#### **TOP 7:** Election of new National Delegates

Oskars Keiss presented a report on National Delegates standing down and National Delegates up for election. Those standing down are Marta Domenech (Andorra), Martin Hellicar (Cyprus), Davor Cikovic (Croatia), Karel Stastny and Jiri Flousek (Czech Republic), Martin Flade (Germany), Larisa Bogdea (Moldova), Alexander Mischenko (Russia), Martin Green (Sweden), Sureyya Isfendiyaroglu (Turkey), Richard Gregory (UK) and Igor Gorban (Ukraine). Those standing for election as replacement are Clara Pladevall (Andorra), Vlatka Dunboviv (Croatia), Christina Ieronymidou (Cyprus), Jiri Reif and Petr Musil (Czech Republic), Christophe Grueneberg (Germany), Silvia Ursul (Moldova), Anton Morkovin (Russia), Fredrik Haas (Sweden), Itri Levent Erkol (Turkey), Mark Eaton (UK) and Yuriy Strus (Ukraine).

All new National Delegates were elected unamimously in a single vote. Oskars Keiss led the thanks for the contributions of all National Delegates that were standing down. The list of delegates on the EBCC website will be updated following the meeting.

## **TOP 8:** Election of Board members

None of the ten members of EBCC Board were standing down and there were therefore no changes in the Board and no new elections to Board. Chair remains Ruud Foppen, Treasurer Anny Anselin and Secretary/Vice Chair David Noble.

## **TOP 9:** Timing and venue of the next 21<sup>st</sup> conference of the EBCC

EBCC Chair Ruud Foppen announced that one offer, led by Joao Rabaca of the University of Evora, had been accepted by the Board and the next conference of the EBCC would be

held in Evora, Portugal in 2019. It has not been decided whether the conference will be held in the spring (March-April) or autumn (September-October). Further information on plans for this conference will be provided in the EBCC newsletter and on the EBCC website

## TOP 10: Any other business

There was no other business and Chair Ruud Foppen thanked everyone for attending and closed the meeting.

7<sup>th</sup> September, Halle, Germany

Ruud P.B. Foppen Chairman David Noble Secretary